1 Matching Results

Search Results

The Roles of the Presbyterian Church, U.S.A., the Presbyterian Church in the U.S. and the United Presbyterian Church of North America in the Establishment and Support of Five Black Colleges

Description: The problem of this study was the roles of the general assembly agencies of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A., the Presbyterian Church in the U.S., and the United Presbyterian Church of North America in the development of Barber- Scotia College, Knoxville College, Johnson C. Smith University, Stillman College, and Mary Holmes College. The historical records of these three churches for the period from 1866 to 1983 were examined to analyze the factors surrounding the establishment of the five colleges, the differences and similarities in the administrative practices of the general assembly agencies charged with operating the colleges, the relationships of the colleges to the churches in the transition from dependent mission schools to independent colleges, and to identify way in which the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) may improve its support of Black higher education. The Presbyterian Churches established the mission schools to meet the religious, educational, and economical needs of the emancipated Black slaves. Though the three 2 churches had differences over the issues of slavery and doctrine, the administrative systems developed for the operations of the schools were very similar. All treated the missions schools as remedial temporary measures necessitated by the refusal of Southern and border states to provide adequately for the public education of Black people, and to satisfy the demand for educated Black clergy to attract Black members. From the period of 1866 to 1922, the churches laid the foundations for their educational and religious ministries to Black people by establishing over two-hundred schools. From 1923 to 1949, great reductions were made in the number of mission schools. During the period of 1950 to 1983, the Presbyterian Churches struggled with strategies to make the five remaining former mission schools independent of their administrative and financial support.
Date: August 1986
Creator: Washington, Carrie
Partner: UNT Libraries