11 Matching Results

Search Results

[News Clip: Church Bueno]

Description: Video footage from the KXAS-TV/NBC station in Fort Worth, Texas, covering a news story by reporter Shelly Johnson about the remains in the community after a year of various Church fires and other fires. Discusses rebuilding and the remaining negative emotions towards the burnings and the laws developed after the fires.
Date: May 25, 1997
Creator: KXAS-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[News Script: Fire]

Description: Script from the WBAP-TV station in Fort Worth, Texas, covering a news story about the Church of Christ orphanage in Quinlan burning down.
Date: May 25, 1955
Creator: WBAP-TV (Television station : Fort Worth, Tex.)
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Letter from C. B. Moore to Linnet, May 23, 1895]

Description: He is glad to hear she is having a good time. He advises her to take advice from Serena and to spend time with Solomon and Lila. He mentions that Henry is not doing well. He talks about the lack of rain. He mentions what John, Daisy, and Mrs. Priest have been doing. Old Uncle Aleck Buchly got married. Mr. Rose has the chills and Mr. Hill will teach next at the school. He is going to let her stay til Emmet's school closes and he hopes she will behave herself.
Date: May 23, 1895
Creator: Moore, C. B.
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Letter to Charles and Mary Moore, May 27, 1895]

Description: She writes that she went with Maggie and Mr. Rucker to see Mrs. Lewis. Maggie went to see Linnet and brought Linnet home with her. She tells them the places Linnet has stayed in. They are enjoying having Linnet visit. She mentions that her health has improved. She was sorry to hear about Henry's illness. She was hoping they could come visit too.
Date: May 27, 1895
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

A Descriptive History of Wesley College

Description: The American junior colleges of today are historical accidents, some having begun originally with elementary and secondary divisions or as adjuncts of local high schools. Wesley College in Greenville, Texas, began on a two acre campus as North Texas University Training School in Terrell, Texas, in 1905. Chartered by the North Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, the school initially provided elementary and high school and two years of college. At this time the name was changed to Wesley College, but the school closed in the spring of 1911. It reopened on a twenty acre campus in the fall of 1912 in Greenville, Texas, and maintained a close relationship with that city until mounting financial problems forced closure in 1938. Many records of the school were transferred to Southern Methodist University at Dallas, and in 1939, Wesley College alumni were invited to become associate members of the S.M.U. Ex-Students Association. Many associated with Wesley College continue to meet annually in Greenville to keep alive their memories of the once prestigious college. This study employs primary and secondary documentary data, as well as interviews with fifty-six individuals, to provide a chronological descriptive history of the origin, growth, development, and demise of the school, together with its philosophical bases.
Date: May 1987
Creator: McMullin, William C. (William Craig)
Partner: UNT Libraries