37 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

Carl Nielsen's Quintet for winds, op. 43: a critical edition, a lecture recital, together with three recitals of selected works for horn by Atterberg, Ries, Mozart, Rosetti, Musgrave, Larsson, and others

Description: The purpose of this dissertation is to prepare and present a critical edition of Carl Nielsen's Quintet for Winds, Op. 43, a major work in the woodwind quintet repertoire. Written for the Copenhagen Wind Quintet in 1922, it is also considered a pivotal composition in Nielsen's artistic output. This treatise offers a brief biography of Carl Nielsen, documents the history and significance of the Quintet for Winds, Op. 43, and presents a critical edition that will enable more accurate performances of this important composition.
Date: December 1995
Creator: Spence, Marcia L. (Marcia Louise)
Partner: UNT Libraries

The organ works of Ottorino Respighi together with three recitals of selected works of J. S. Bach, W. Bolcom, J. Guillou, J. Langlais, F. Liszt, C. Tournemire and L. Vierne

Description: This dissertation deals with Respighi's output for the organ which consists of the Three Preludes for organ solo, a Suite in G for strings and organ, two transcriptions (the Vitali Ciaccona, and a Suit by Bach), both for violin and organ, and various organ parts in the symphonic poems, operas, and orchestral works.
Date: August 1979
Creator: Ferré, Susan
Partner: UNT Libraries

Matthew Dubourg: Corelli with a flourish : a lecture recital, together with three recitals of selected works

Description: The lecture recital, presented on November 27, 1978, explored the method of "gracing" employed in the performance of solo violin sonatas in the first quarter of the eighteenth century as exemplified by an unpublished manuscript of the embellished version of Corelli's Sonata in E Major, Op. V, No. 11, by the English violinist Matthew Dubourg. A general comparison was made with other contemporary examples, including in particular Geminiani's "graced" version of Corelli's Sonata in A Major, Op. V, No. 9. Dubourg's manuscript was performed after the lecture.
Date: May 1979
Creator: Pliler, Richard A.
Partner: UNT Libraries

Symbolism in the Davidsbündler dances of Robert Schumann (lecture-recital), together with three recitals of selected works by Mozart, Chopin, Schubert, J.S. Bach, Rachmaninoff, Bloch, Scarlatti, Ben Weber, Beethoven, Prokofieff and Liszt

Description: The first three recitals contained solely performances of piano music. The first of these consisted of a Fantasy and a set of variations by Mozart, the Fantaisie in F minor by Chopin, and the Sonata in C minor by Schubert. The second recital contained an English Suite by J. S. Bach, two Etudes-Tableaux and two Preludes by Rachmaninoff, and the Piano Sonata of Ernest Bloch. The third recital consisted of four Sonatas by Scarlatti, a Fantasia (Variations) by the American composer, Ben Weber, a Sonata by Beethoven, Chose en soi and Pensée by Prokofieff, and a Polonaise by Liszt. The fourth recital was a lecture on symbolism in the Davidsbündler Dances of Schumann, examining various types of symbolism appearing in the Dances: use of quotations from his own and others' works, use of a motive based on the letters of a name, use of "stage directions," use of tonality as a symbol, use of word painting, and use of sound effects. The lecture was followed by a performance of this work.
Date: December 1979
Creator: Padgett, Olive D.
Partner: UNT Libraries

Symbolism and meaning in Vingt regards sur l'Enfant-Jésus by Olivier Messiaen, a lecture recital, together with three recitals of selected works

Description: The lecture recital was given April 10, 1978. The importance of symbolism in and its relation to the music in Messian's Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant Jésus was discussed. The following pieces from this work were performed: I. Regard du Pére; II. Regard de l'étoile; III. L'échange; VII. Regard de la Croix; VIII. Regard des hauters; XIII. Noël.
Date: August 1978
Creator: Morris, Betty Ann Walker
Partner: UNT Libraries

Eclectic qualities of Zoltán Kodály's Sonata, opus 8, for solo violoncello :|ba lecture recital, together with three recitals of music by Shostakovich, Biggs, Brahms, Franck, Bach, Ginastera, Martinu, and Barber

Description: The lecture recital was given April 11, 1977. The subject was Eclectic Qualities of Zoltán Kodály's Sonata, Opus 8, for Solo Violoncello, and it included a discussion of rhythmic, melodic, harmonic, and formal qualities of the sonata along with conclusions and performance suggestions. The Kodály Sonata, Opus 8, was performed at the conclusion of the lecture.
Date: August 1977
Creator: Rietz, Marilyn June
Partner: UNT Libraries

Three perspectives of the art of Ferruccio Busoni as exemplified by the Toccata, Carmen fantasy, and transcription of Liszt's Mephisto waltz:a lecture recital, together with three other recitals

Description: The lecture recital, given April 13, 1981, began with biographical background for Busoni's compositional development leading to his mature style, as found in the Toccata, the Carmen Fantasy, and the Mephisto Waltz. The three works--an original composition, an operatic paraphrase, and a transcription from an orchestral score--were then detailed with emphasis placed primarily on Busoni's aesthetic ideals in relation to the three works.
Date: August 1981
Creator: Middleton, Roeboyd Hugh
Partner: UNT Libraries

The edition of a quartet for solo double bass, violin, viola, and violoncello by Franz Anton Hoffmeister, a lecture recital, together with selected works by J.S. Bach, N. Paganini, S. Koussevitsky, F. Skorzeny, L. Walzel and others

Description: A solo-quartet by Hoffmeister previously unpublished was discovered by the author in the archives of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna. This work contributes to the modern solo repertoire for double bass, and has considerable musical merit. It is a well written work using cleverly overlapped phrases, counterpoint and imitative writing, and effective juxtaposition of contrasting instrumentation. It lies well on the bass and provides an excellent solo vehicle for advanced bassists.
Date: May 1982
Creator: Jacobson, Harry P.
Partner: UNT Libraries

The influence of Heinrich Baermann on the performance of the clarinet works of Carl Maria von Weber: a lecture recital, together with three recitals of music by Poulenc, Rivier, Brahms, Weber, Finzi, Mozart, Bernstein, Busoni, Bozza, and Milhaud

Description: The dissertation consists of four recitals: one chamber music recital, two solo recitals, and one lecture recital. The repertoire of these programs was chosen with the intention of demonstrating the capability of the performer to deal with problems arising in works of varying types and of different historical periods.
Date: December 1981
Creator: Pickthorn, David A. (David Allen)
Partner: UNT Libraries

Felix Mendelssohn as organ composer: unpublished and little-known works : a lecture recital, together with three additional recitals of selected works of S. Adler ... [et al.]

Description: The lecture recital was given on April 18, 1974. Some Mendelssohn organ works in manuscript were performed during the lecture to illustrate Mendelssohn's indebtedness to baroque models and his evolution as an organ composer.
Date: August 1975
Creator: Petrash, David Lloyd
Partner: UNT Libraries