69 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

7e. quatuor, pour deux violons, alto et violoncelle, oeuv.80

Description: This is a digital copy of the four parts of Charles Dancla's seventh string quartet, op.80 in D minor. Charles Dancla was the most prominent member of a family of musicians and a virtuoso violinist, composer and teacher. In 1828, he was admitted to the Paris Conservatory of Music, where he won the first prize in 1833. At the Conservatory, he studied violin with Paul Guérin and Pierre Baillot. Dancla played solo violin with the orchestra of the théâtre Royal de l'Opera Comique and with the Société des Concerts. In ca. 1860, he was appointed professor of violin at the Paris Conservatory and retired from that post in 1892. He wrote 14 string quartets intended for professional or amateur players (opp. 5, 7 ,18, 41, 48, 56, 80, 87, 101, 113, 125, 142, 160, and 195a) and three easy string quartets (op. 208).
Date: 186u
Creator: Dancla, Charles, 1817-1907.
Partner: UNT Music Library

Chaos, Cosmos, and Communion: Three Movements for String Quartet

Description: The three movements of this piece are related proportionally in that movements one and two represent three-fifths of the length of the whole. Movement three represents two-fifths of the length of the whole. Another proportional relationship exists between movements one and two. Movement one represents two-fifths of the length of the first two movements, while movement two represents three-fifths of the length of the two. An additional link between the three movements is pitch content. Movements one and two have little in common in this regard, but movement three combines elements of the first two. The duration of the entire piece is approximately fifteen minutes.
Date: August 1994
Creator: Moran, David W. (David Wayne)
Partner: UNT Libraries

String Quartet

Description: This quartet shows the composer's development from a highly chromatic, freely melodic, un-serialized style in movement I, through a still free, but disjunct, somewhat more ordered style in movement II, to a style in movement III which makes much use of serial techniques. This last usage, however, no longer employs the twelve-tone method in a stiff and fettered manner.
Date: January 1968
Creator: Conyers, Carolyn C. (Carolyn Camille)
Partner: UNT Libraries

First String Quartet

Description: This is a quartet in three movements: allegro ben marcato (free form); adagio appasionato (passacaglia); and presto (scherzo). These three movements comprise an arch-form, the first and third being similar stylistically and thematically, the second forming the "pillar".
Date: August 1975
Creator: Clyne, Malcolm Edward
Partner: UNT Libraries

String Quartet

Description: The String Quartet is comprised of three movements: Allegro, Adagio, and Vivace. The Allegro utilizes a monothematic Sonata Allegro form: the Adagio is through-composed, and the Vivace is a Rondo. All three movements feature a lean harmonic texture, much of the harmony resulting from linear movement, i.e. counterpoint.
Date: January 1964
Creator: Steele, Robert Lanny
Partner: UNT Libraries