From introduction: During the summer of 1951, Navajos conducted John W. Chester, Russell C. Cutter, and E. V. Reinhardt, Grand Junction Exploration Branch, U. S. Atomic Energy Commission, to a copper deposit in Copper Canyon. Little radioactivity was noted, and no further work was done in the area at that time. In October 1951, the same group of Navajos reported the discovery of uranium ore in another portion of the same area. The site was visited by Cutter who noted that an excavation made by the Navajos had disclosed a 3-foot thickness of low-grade uranium ore. In November 1951, Cutter again visited the area and observed that the Navajos had opened a 5-foot face of good ore.