53 Matching Results

Search Results

Advanced search parameters have been applied.

[South Reading Room, Library, North Texas State Teachers College, 1929]

Description: Photograph of the North Texas State Teachers College Library in the spring of 1929. Seen in the photo is a large room with long tables at which are seated a variety of young men and women looking at various books. Along the back wall can be seen shelves of books. To the left can be seen sculptures. The photographic image is affixed to a pale gray mount with line borders. At lower right front corner is embossed photographer's mark: "Shaw / Denton, Texas". On the reverse of the mount are handwritten the following notes: "This picture was made in the spring of 1929, soon after the few books on the wall were moved from the stacks to this room (South Reading Room in old Library Building - now Historical Building). It represents the beginning of the Reference Dept. - L. Brashears." and "For Miss Brashears Compliments of the Shaw Studio." The photograph shows the Library Building (built 1912-1913) the first library building on the NT campus, which later would be called the Historical Building, and is presently the O.J. Curry Building ("Curry Hall"). Lottie Brashears started at NT in 1921 as Assistant Librarian, and worked at various positions within the NT Library until her retirement in 1958. She was one of the first heads of the Reference Department.
Date: Spring 1929
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Science Building and gazebo at North Texas State Teachers College]

Description: Photograph of gazebo (on left) and Science Building (on right) on the campus of North Texas State Teachers College. People are visible in the photograph, on the paved walkways between and around the gazebo and Science Building. There are people visible under the gazebo, which shelters a fountain, as well as in the Science Building with its windows open. Handwritten notes on the back of the photograph read, "Science bldg. + Gazebo" and "campus, inner, undated, 1930s?".
Date: [1928..1961]
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Administration Building at North Texas State Teachers College]

Description: Photograph of the Administration Building, in center background, at North Texas State Teachers College. This photograph was taken from a paved street. The Historical Building is visible in the left foreground, and the Science Building is in the right foreground. A walkway, with open white gates, leads between the Historical Building and Science Building to the Administration Building. The walkway is lined with trees and shrubbery. Part of an automobile is also visible in the left foreground parked at the curb. Handwritten notes on the back of the photograph read, "admin. bldg. before 1935" and "Campus Inner, Historical Bldg. [L], Auditorium (Admin before '35) Bldg. [Center], Science Bldg. [R]."
Date: [1923..1935]
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Historical Building and Science Building at North Texas State Normal College]

Description: Photograph, facing southwest, of the Historical Building (in center background) and Science Building (on right) at North Texas State Normal College. In the right of the photograph, a man and woman are looking at a book and sitting on a bench next to the ground floor windows of the Science Building, while another man can be seen leaning out of the first floor window above the man and woman on the bench. In the left of the photograph, several trees, a fence, and a gate can be seen lining one of the campus walkways. The number "53" is written in bold ink in the bottom right corner of the photograph. On the back of the photograph, a handwritten note reads, "Campus, inner, 1922".
Date: 1922
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Main Building (Old Main) before demolition]

Description: Photograph of the Main Building (Old Main) being torn down. The Main Building was constructed in 1904, the second permanent structure on North Texas Campus. It housed an auditorium that seated 1,200, library, administrative offices, and classrooms. Sometimes referred to as the Old Main building, the structure was demolished in 1923 to make way for the new Administration Building, which is now the Auditorium Building.
Date: 1923
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Main Building and Science Building]

Description: Photograph of the Main Building (Old Main) and the Science Building prior to the Main Building's demolition. The Main Building was constructed in 1904, the second permanent structure on North Texas Campus. It housed an auditorium that seated 1,200, library, administrative offices, and classrooms. Sometimes referred to as the Old Main building, the structure was demolished in 1923 to make way for the new Administration Building, which is now the Auditorium Building.The Science Building was built in 1910 and demolished in 1967 to make way for the Language Building.
Date: 1923
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Main Building Being Torn Down]

Description: Photograph of the Main Building (Old Main) and the Science Building prior to the Main Building's demolition. The Main Building was constructed in 1904, the second permanent structure on North Texas Campus. It housed an auditorium that seated 1,200, library, administrative offices, and classrooms. Sometimes referred to as the Old Main building, the structure was demolished in 1923 to make way for the new Administration Building, which is now the Auditorium Building.The Science Building was built in 1910 and demolished in 1967 to make way for the Language Building.
Date: 1923
Creator: Johnson, Echvard
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Men's Gymnasium]

Description: Photograph of the Men's Gymnasium on the North Texas campus. A man can be seen outside the building, and several cars are parked on the curb. This building became known as the Men's Gym in 1922. Prior to this date, it was The Model Training School and Laboratory School. The building was demolished in 1953. The text "B B - 5014 - A" is written on the bottom left of the image.
Date: [1922..1953]
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Men's Gymnasium in Snow]

Description: Photograph of the Men's Gymnasium on the North Texas campus in Denton. The ground around the building is covered in snow, and the trees have lost their leaves. This building became known as the Men's Gym in 1922. Prior to this date, it was The Model Training School and Laboratory School. The building was demolished in 1953.
Date: [1922..1953]
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Men's Gymnasium]

Description: Photograph of the Men's Gymnasium on the North Texas campus in Denton. This building became known as the Men's Gym in 1922. Prior to this date, it was The Model Training School and Laboratory School. The building was demolished in 1953.
Date: [1922..1953]
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Students at Swimming Pool]

Description: Photograph of students at a swimming pool on the North Texas campus in Denton. This pool was operational from the 1920s to 1986, and was located where the Eagle Student Services Center is currently.
Date: [1920..1986]
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Students at Swimming Pool]

Description: Photograph of students in a swimming pool on the North Texas campus in Denton. This pool was operational from the 1920s to 1986, and was located where the Eagle Student Services Center is currently.
Date: [1920..1986]
Location Info:
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Men's Gymnasium]

Description: Photograph of the Men's Gymnasium on the North Texas campus in Denton. Men can be seen working on the roof. Several cars are parked by the curb. This building became known as the Men's Gym in 1922. Prior to this date, it was The Model Training School and Laboratory School. The building was demolished in 1953. The text "B B 5014 - B" can be seen in the bottom left of the image.
Date: [1922..1953]
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections

[Men's Gym]

Description: Photograph of the interior of the Men's Gymnasium on the North Texas campus in Denton. Lumber lies in piles on the court, and two men can be seen working against the far wall. The text "B B - 5014 - C" is written in the bottom left of the image.
Date: [1922..1953]
Partner: UNT Libraries Special Collections