Help

The Joseph Britton Freshwater Mussel Collection User Guide: Species List

There are 52 Freshwater mussel species found in Texas drainages. 41 of these species are currently represented in this collection. In addition to the Texas species there are some species represented in the collection from other parts of the United States. All of the Texas freshwater mussel species are listed below in two sections. A third section lists non-Texas species in the collection.

Texas Freshwater Mussel Species in the Collection

Texas Freshwater Mussel Species Not in the Collection

Other Freshwater Mussel Species in the Collection

For each species, the species author and common name are given. For species represented in the collection a link is provided to all the specimens in the collection identified as that species. For all the species listed below a link to their Nature Serve record is given as a means to provide additional information about the species. To aid in identification a list of similar species is provided as well.

Texas Freshwater Mussel Species in the Collection


Amblema plicata - (Say, 1817) - three-ridge


Arcidens confragosus - (Say, 1829) - rock pocketbook


Cyrtonaias tampicoensis - (I. Lea, 1838) - Tampico pearlymussel


Fusconaia askewi - (Marsh, 1896) - Texas pigtoe


Fusconaia flava - (Rafinesque, 1820) - Wabash pigtoe


Fusconaia lananensis - (Frierson, 1901) - triangle pigtoe


Glebula rotundata - (Lamarck, 1819) - round pearlshell


Lampsilis bracteata - (Gould, 1855) - Texas fatmucket


Lampsilis hydiana - (I. Lea, 1838) - Louisiana fatmucket


Lampsilis satura - (I. Lea, 1852) - sandbank pocketbook


Lampsilis teres - (Rafinesque, 1820) - yellow sandshell


Leptodea fragilis - (Rafinesque, 1820) - fragile papershell


Ligumia subrostrata - (Say, 1831) - pondmussel


Megalonaias nervosa - (Rafinesque, 1820) - washboard


Obliquaria reflexa - Rafinesque, 1820 - threehorn wartyback


Obovaria jacksoniana - (Frierson, 1912) - southern hickorynut


Plectomerus dombeyanus - (Valenciennes, 1827) - bankclimber


Pleurobema riddellii - (I. Lea, 1861) - Louisiana pigtoe


Popenaias popeii - (I. Lea, 1857) - Texas hornshell


Potamilus amphichaenus - (Frierson, 1898) - Texas heelsplitter


Potamilus ohiensis - (Rafinesque, 1820) - pink papershell


Potamilus purpuratus - (Lamarck, 1819) - bleufer


Pyganodon grandis - (Say, 1829) - giant floater


Quadrula apiculata - (Say, 1829) - southern mapleleaf


Quadrula aurea - (I. Lea, 1859) - golden orb


Quadrula houstonensis - (I. Lea, 1859) - smooth pimpleback


Quadrula mitchelli - (Simpson, 1895) - false spike


Quadrula mortoni - (Conrad, 1835) - western pimpleback


Quadrula nobilis - (Conrad, 1854) - gulf mapleleaf


Quadrula petrina - (Gould, 1855) - Texas pimpleback


Quadrula quadrula - (Rafinesque, 1820) - mapleleaf


Strophitus undulatus - (Say, 1817) - creeper


Toxolasma parvus - (Barnes, 1823) - lilliput


Toxolasma texasiensis - (I. Lea, 1857) - Texas lilliput


Tritogonia verrucosa - (Rafinesque, 1820) - pistolgrip


Truncilla donaciformis - (I. Lea, 1828) - fawnsfoot


Truncilla macrodon - (I. Lea, 1859) - Texas fawnsfoot


Truncilla truncata - Rafinesque, 1820 - deertoe


Uniomerus tetralasmus - (Say, 1831) - pondhorn


Utterbackia imbecillis - (Say, 1829) - paper pondshell


Villosa lienosa - (Conrad, 1834) - little spectaclecase



Texas Freshwater Mussels Species Not in the Collection


Anodonta suborbiculata - Say, 1831 - flat floater


Arkansia wheeleri - Ortmann and Walker, 1912 - Ouachita rock pocketbook


Elliptio dilatata - (Rafinesque, 1820) - spike


Lampsilis cardium - Rafinesque, 1820 - plain pocketbook


Lasmigona complanata - (Barnes, 1823) - white heelsplitter


Potamilus metnecktayi - Johnson, 1998 - Salina mucket


Quadrula couchiana - (I. Lea, 1860) - Rio Grande monkeyface


Quadrula nodulata - (Rafinesque, 1820) - wartyback


Quadrula pustulosa - (I. Lea, 1831) - pimpleback


Truncilla cognata - (I. Lea, 1860) - Mexican fawnsfoot


Uniomerus declivis - (Say, 1831) - tapered pondhorn



Other Freshwater Mussel Species in the Collection


Elliptio complanata - (Lightfoot, 1786) - eastern elliptio


Lampsilis splendida - (I. Lea, 1838) - rayed pink fatmucket


Lasmigona subviridis - (Conrad, 1835) - green floater


Villosa delumbis - (Conrad, 1834) - eastern creekshell


Villosa vibex - (Conrad, 1834) - southern rainbow