[College Club plaque]

One of 5 photographs in the series: Campus Plaques available on this site.

Description

Photograph of a historical campus plaque in the University Archive for the College Club. It marks the spot for the North Texas State Teachers College. Listed are the Board of Regents members and other general info about the building. It was erected in 1946.

Physical Description

1 photograph : col.

Creation Information

Mears, Michelle M. September 17, 2007.

Context

This photograph is part of the collection entitled: University Photography Collection and was provided by UNT Libraries Special Collections to Digital Library, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. More information about this photograph can be viewed below.

Who

People and organizations associated with either the creation of this photograph or its content.

Collector

Provided By

UNT Libraries Special Collections

The Special Collections Department collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, university archives, historical manuscripts, maps, microfilm, photographs, art and artifacts. The department is located in UNT's Willis Library in the fourth floor Reading Room.

Contact Us

What

Descriptive information to help identify this photograph. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Digital Library.

Titles

Description

Photograph of a historical campus plaque in the University Archive for the College Club. It marks the spot for the North Texas State Teachers College. Listed are the Board of Regents members and other general info about the building. It was erected in 1946.

Physical Description

1 photograph : col.

Notes

The plaque reads "College Club/ North Texas/ State Teachers College/ Denton, Texas/ W. J. McConnell/ President". It then goes on to list the Board of Regents "William L. Kerr/President, Newton S. Harrell/Vice President, Sallie Ward Beretta, S. A. Kerr Jr., V. A. Collins, Hubert L. Mills, Melvin C. Eidson, R. L. Thomas, and Walter F. Woodul. Also listed were Gregory & Cates as the architect firm and S. Clyde Carpenter and Company as the general contractors. It was erected in 1946.

Language

Item Type

Identifier

Unique identifying numbers for this photograph in the Digital Library or other systems.

Publication Information

  • Preferred Citation: University Photography Collection (U0458), University of North Texas Special Collections

Collections

This photograph is part of the following collection of related materials.

University Photography Collection

Drawn from the UNT Archives, these photographs depict images of University of North Texas football, UNT alumni and alumni events, and images of the changing and growing University of North Texas campus.

What responsibilities do I have when using this photograph?

When

Dates and time periods associated with this photograph.

Creation Date

  • September 17, 2007

Covered Time Period

Coverage Date

Added to The UNT Digital Library

  • Aug. 30, 2017, 3:18 p.m.

Description Last Updated

  • Nov. 3, 2017, 10:49 a.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this photograph last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 0
Total Uses: 7

Where

Geographical information about where this photograph originated or about its content.

Coordinates

  • 33.210068, -97.148954

Map Information

  • map marker Precise Place Name coordinates added by our staff.
  • map marker Automatically generated Place Name coordinates.
  • Repositioning map may be required for optimal printing.

Mapped Locations

Interact With This Photograph

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Enlarge

International Image Interoperability Framework

IIF Logo

We support the IIIF Presentation API

Mears, Michelle M. [College Club plaque], photograph, September 17, 2007; (digital.library.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metadc991145/: accessed September 22, 2018), University of North Texas Libraries, Digital Library, digital.library.unt.edu; crediting UNT Libraries Special Collections.