1er quatuor, pour deux violons, alto et basse, oeuvre 5 Metadata

Metadata describes a digital item, providing (if known) such information as creator, publisher, contents, size, relationship to other resources, and more. Metadata may also contain "preservation" components that help us to maintain the integrity of digital files over time.


  • Main Title 1er quatuor, pour deux violons, alto et basse, oeuvre 5
  • Uniform Title Quartets, strings, no. 1, op. 5, F minor


  • Composer: Dancla, Charles, 1817-1907.
    Creator Type: Personal


  • Name: Ad. Catelin et Cie.
    Place of Publication: Paris, France
    Additional Info: Chez Ad. Catelin et Cie., editeurs des compositeurs réunis, rue Grange Bateliè, no.26.


  • Creation: 182u


  • French


  • Content Description: Musical score containing the four parts of Charles Dancla's first string quartet, op.5 in F minor, written for two violins, with alto and bass.
  • Physical Description: 4 parts ; 32 cm.


  • Library of Congress Subject Headings: String quartets -- Parts.

Primary Source

  • Item is a Primary Source


  • Name: Virtual Music Rare Book Room
    Code: VRBR


  • Name: UNT Music Library
    Code: UNTML


  • Rights Statement: VRBR - Virtual Music Rare Book Room

Resource Type

  • Musical Score/Notation


  • Image


  • UNT Catalog No.: b1455100
  • OCLC: 60608556
  • Call Number: M452 .D2 op.5 1800z parts
  • Archival Resource Key: ark:/67531/metadc39285


  • Display Note: Full title as appears in the t.p. of the first violin part: 1er quatuor, pour deux violons, alto et basse, dédié à monsieur Girard, premier chef d'orchestre du théâtre Ral. de l'Opera Comique, par J. Ch. Dancla, violon solo du théâtre Royal de l'Opera Comique, membre se la Société des Concerts, oeuvre 5. Pl. no.: Ade.C.(567)& Cie.
  • Digital Preservation: creationAppName: Omniscan creationAppVersion: 11 creationHardware: Zeutschel OS 10000
  • Display Note: Charles Dancla was the most prominent member of a family of musicians and a virtuoso violinist, composer and teacher. In 1828, he was admitted to the Paris Conservatory of Music, where he won the first prize in 1833. At the Conservatory, he studied violin with Paul Guérin and Pierre Baillot. Dancla played solo violin with the orchestra of the théâtre Royal de l'Opera Comique and with the Société des Concerts. In ca. 1860, he was appointed professor of violin at the Paris Conservatory and retired from that post in 1892. He wrote 14 string quartets intended for professional or amateur players (opp. 5, 7 ,18, 41, 48, 56, 80, 87, 101, 113, 125, 142, 160, and 195a) and three easy string quartets (op. 208).
  • Display Note: The library's copy includes a list of subscribers that names amateur and distinguished musicians such as: the composers [Hector] Berlioz, [Luigi] Cherubini, [Giacomo Meyerbeer], the violinist [Jean-Delphin] Alard, and pianist [Pierre] Zimmermann, among others.