Airs russes, [op.20] Metadata

Metadata describes a digital item, providing (if known) such information as creator, publisher, contents, size, relationship to other resources, and more. Metadata may also contain "preservation" components that help us to maintain the integrity of digital files over time.


  • Main Title Airs russes, [op.20]
  • Series Title Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer


  • Composer: Meyer, Leopold von, 1816-1883
    Creator Type: Personal
    Creator Info: Par Léopold de Meyer, pianiste de la chambre de Sa Majesté L'Empereur d'Autriche. Membre honoraire de la Societé Philharmonique de St. Petersbourg et du Conservatoire de Vienne.


  • Name: Cramer, Beale & Co.
    Place of Publication: London, England
    Additional Info: 201 Regent Street & 67 Conduit Street. Plate no. 3473.


  • Creation: 184u


  • French


  • Content Description: Musical score for "Airs russes" written for piano by Leopold von Meyer, as part of opus 20. This piece was issued as the second of four pieces published under the title "Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer."
  • Physical Description: 9 p. of music ; 35 cm.


  • Library of Congress Subject Headings: Piano music.
  • Keyword: music scores

Primary Source

  • Item is a Primary Source


  • Name: Virtual Music Rare Book Room
    Code: VRBR


  • Name: UNT Music Library
    Code: UNTML

Resource Type

  • Musical Score/Notation


  • Image


  • UNT Catalog No.: b3812605
  • OCLC: 501019312
  • Call Number: M22 .M58
  • Archival Resource Key: ark:/67531/metadc39278


  • Display Note: Full title as appears in the t.p.: Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer. Quatre morceaux, No.2, Airs russes.
  • Display Note: The Austrian composer and pianist von Meyer, had a successful performance career in Russia, eastern Europe and Vienna and also achieved success in London and Paris. He visited the United States on October 1845 and his histrionic performance style and bravura showpieces were received with wide acclaim.
  • Display Note: "Airs russes" is part of a bound collection of piano pieces composed by von Meyer that also includes fantasies on famous nineteenth-century operas, variations, national airs, marches, valses, an etude and nocturnes. These are the titles of all the piano pieces by von Meyer in the order in which they appear in the library's collection: Lucrezia Borgia: introduction and brilliant variations for the piano forte; Variations sur un theme de Semiramis de Rossini, op.37; Fantaisie sur L'Elixir d'amore, op.32; Fantaisie sur Norma de Bellini, op. 40; Fantaisie sur un air de Bellini; Le carnaval de Venise, varié pour le piano, op.31; Grande fantaisie orientale sur deux themes arabes, op.38; Fantaisie sur Les Hirondelles de Felicien David; Airs russes: fantaisie pour le piano forte, op.43; Marche marocaine Machmudier: air guerrier national [sic] des turcs [sic]; Grande march [sic] triomphale D'Isly, op.30; Hortense: notturno for the piano forte; Andante for the piano forte, op.42; Bajazeth: air nationale des turques; Grande etude de bataille, op.35; Quatre morceaux pour le piano forte: no.1 Le depart et le retour (deux noturnes); no.2 Airs russes, op.20; no.3 Valses brillantes; no.4 Grand gallop de bravoure.
  • Digital Preservation: creationAppName: Omniscan creationAppVersion: 11 creationHardware: Zeutschel OS 10000