Airs russes, [op.20]

One of 4 scores in the series: Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer available on this site.


Musical score for "Airs russes" written for piano by Leopold von Meyer, as part of opus 20. This piece was issued as the second of four pieces published under the title "Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer."

Physical Description

9 p. of music ; 35 cm.

Creation Information

Meyer, Leopold von, 1816-1883 184u.


This score is part of the collection entitled: Virtual Music Rare Book Room and was provided by UNT Music Library to Digital Library, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. It has been viewed 184 times . More information about this score can be viewed below.


People and organizations associated with either the creation of this score or its content.


  • Meyer, Leopold von, 1816-1883 Par Léopold de Meyer, pianiste de la chambre de Sa Majesté L'Empereur d'Autriche. Membre honoraire de la Societé Philharmonique de St. Petersbourg et du Conservatoire de Vienne.


  • Cramer, Beale & Co.
    Publisher Info: 201 Regent Street & 67 Conduit Street. Plate no. 3473.
    Place of Publication: London, England


We've identified this musical score/notation as a primary source within our collections. Researchers, educators, and students may find this score useful in their work.

Provided By

UNT Music Library

The UNT Music Library - one of the largest academic music collections in the United States - contains over 400,000 volumes of books, periodicals, scores, dissertations, and reference works in many languages, as well as nearly 900,000 sound recordings in a variety of formats, including cylinders, reel-to-reel tapes, 45/33/78rpm records, compact discs, and digital tape recordings. The Music Library is also home to many rare books and scores and other special collections.

Contact Us


Descriptive information to help identify this score. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Digital Library.



Musical score for "Airs russes" written for piano by Leopold von Meyer, as part of opus 20. This piece was issued as the second of four pieces published under the title "Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer."

Physical Description

9 p. of music ; 35 cm.


Full title as appears in the t.p.: Repertoire de Léopold de Meyer. Quatre morceaux, No.2, Airs russes.

The Austrian composer and pianist von Meyer, had a successful performance career in Russia, eastern Europe and Vienna and also achieved success in London and Paris. He visited the United States on October 1845 and his histrionic performance style and bravura showpieces were received with wide acclaim.

"Airs russes" is part of a bound collection of piano pieces composed by von Meyer that also includes fantasies on famous nineteenth-century operas, variations, national airs, marches, valses, an etude and nocturnes.

These are the titles of all the piano pieces by von Meyer in the order in which they appear in the library's collection:

Lucrezia Borgia: introduction and brilliant variations for the piano forte; Variations sur un theme de Semiramis de Rossini, op.37; Fantaisie sur L'Elixir d'amore, op.32; Fantaisie sur Norma de Bellini, op. 40; Fantaisie sur un air de Bellini; Le carnaval de Venise, varié pour le piano, op.31; Grande fantaisie orientale sur deux themes arabes, op.38; Fantaisie sur Les Hirondelles de Felicien David; Airs russes: fantaisie pour le piano forte, op.43; Marche marocaine Machmudier: air guerrier national [sic] des turcs [sic]; Grande march [sic] triomphale D'Isly, op.30; Hortense: notturno for the piano forte; Andante for the piano forte, op.42; Bajazeth: air nationale des turques; Grande etude de bataille, op.35; Quatre morceaux pour le piano forte: no.1 Le depart et le retour (deux noturnes); no.2 Airs russes, op.20; no.3 Valses brillantes; no.4 Grand gallop de bravoure.



Library of Congress Subject Headings



Unique identifying numbers for this score in the Digital Library or other systems.


This score is part of the following collection of related materials.

Virtual Music Rare Book Room

The Virtual Music Rare Book Room is composed primarily of digitized materials held in the UNT Music Library's Edna Mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room. The collection is particularly strong in eighteenth-century French opera, due in large part to the influence of musicologist Lloyd Hibberd on the development of the collection.

What responsibilities do I have when using this score?


Dates and time periods associated with this score.

Creation Date

  • 184u

Added to The UNT Digital Library

  • Aug. 1, 2011, 10:42 a.m.

Description Last Updated

  • Dec. 10, 2014, 4:13 p.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this score last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 0
Total Uses: 184

Interact With This Score

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Start Viewing

Citations, Rights, Re-Use

Meyer, Leopold von, 1816-1883. Airs russes, [op.20], score, 184u; London, England. ( accessed January 17, 2018), University of North Texas Libraries, Digital Library,; crediting UNT Music Library.