To Council officers: President Dave Hamrick. VP/Secretary Fran Vick, Treasurer Jim Hoggard

9-11-05

This is one more, and I hope, the final attempt to make sense of council terms. Once officers agree, I think we should keep careful records so we don't lapse into confusion again over terms.

One problem seems to be that of replacement of resigned councilors. In some instances, a new councilor is elected to fill a vacancy in September, and it is often uncertain when that person's term begins -- at the subsequent March meeting or in March of the year of election. That has created a problem in the case of Mary Willis Walker, who was elected in September 2001, along with Olive Hershey, to fill vacancies created by the resignations of councilors Kathleen Cambor and Donley Watt that year.

At that time, I had asked for some clarification from Mark Busby. In an early reply, Mark had said that the Walker and Hershey terms began in March, 2001, but later said that, for the record, their terms began in March 2002. Hershey was replaced in March 2003 by Clay Reynolds, having been asked to resign because she had missed at least two consecutive meetings, violating by-laws which say that councilors must attend at least two of the council's three sessions each year.

So, Walker's first term ended either in 2003 or 2004, which would mean her second term ended in March 2005 or will end in March 2006.

Based on minutes and in correspondence with Busby, this is what I believe to be a correct list of members and terms. I'd like for all of you to look it over and if you agree with it, let's make this official so that we'll have a basis for future election of councilors.

I believe, according to my minutes, that there still is one vacancy to be filled, though I'm not certain how that vacancy occurred, When Jim Sanderson and Jane Roberts Wood were elected in Mach 2005, we also had asked Dave Hamric to invite Lorenzo Thomas to join the council. He declined because of illness, and died later this year. I presume that vacancy still needs to be filled.

Here is my latest list, which I believe to be correct. Let me know if you spot errors. And perhaps we should determine absolutely when terms begin.

Officers --

President: Dave Hamrick. Elected to the Council in March 2003 to replace Tom Pilkington, whose second term ended. Elected Vice President in March 2004 when Joe Holley became President; succeeded to President in June 2004 when Holley resigned. I presume that Hamrick's term began in March 2004, since Holley never officially presided as president.

Vice President/Secretary: Fran Vick. Elected to the Council in 2002, became Secretary in March 2003 when Paula Marks resigned from that office and from the Council. Became Vice President in June 2004 when Hamrick succeeded to the TIL presidency. Also

agreed to continue to serve as Secretary until a replacement could be elected.

Treasurer: Jim Hoggard. Elected to the Council in 1988. Served as Secretary/Treasurer 1989-1994; served as President 1994-1998 and continued to handle Treasurer duties. During this time, it was decided to split the office of Secretary/Treasurer into two positions. Volunteered and was elected Treasurer in 1998.

Recording Secretary: Bob Compton. Elected to the Council in March 2000. Elected Recording Secretary in July 2001 when Paula Marks became Secretary.

Council (in alphabetical order):

*Jerry Bradley. Elected March 2002; re-elected to second term in March 2004. Second term expires March 2006.

*Tom Dodge. Elected March 2002; re-elected to second term in March 2004. Second term ends March 2006.

Carol Dawson. Elected in September 2003 to replace Paula Marks, who resigned. First term began in March 2004, ends in March 2006.

***Dick Holland.** Elected March 2002. Re-elected March 2004. Second term ends March 2006.

Clay Reynolds. Elected March 2003 to replace Olive Hershey, who resigned as request of Council for missing at least two consecutive meetings in violation of TIL by-laws. First term ended March 2005. Second term ends March 2007.

**Jim Sanderson. Elected March 2005. First term ends in March 2007.

**Jane Roberts Wood. Elected March 2005. First term ends March 2007.

***Mary Willis Walker. Elected September 2001. Term began in March 2002 (or March 2001?). Re-elected to second term in March 2001 (or March 2002?). Second term ended in March 2005 (or will end in March 2006).

*Replacing Elizabeth Crook, Terence Dalrymple and Sam Gwynn, whose terms ended.

**Replacing Mark Busby (retiring from Council) and Joe Holley, who resigned in June 2004 as President.

***Replacing Kathleen Cambor, who resigned, and elected with Olive Hershey, who replaced Donley Watt, who resigned.