PAT TAGGART AWARD FOR NEWSPAPER LEADER OF THE YEAR

A ---- J. D - -!--! --- 4---

	Award Recipients:	Presenter:
2007	Doug Toney, New Braunfels Herald-Zeitung	Gary Borders
2006	Darrell Coleman, Wichita Falls Times Record News	Charles Moser
2005	Wes Turner, Fort Worth Star-Telegram	Jeremy Halbreich
2004	Dan Savage, Waco Tribune-Herald	Bill Hartman
2003	Bill Hartman, Hartman Newspapers, Inc.	Fred B. Hartman
2002	B. Carmage Walls (posthumous), Walls Publications Ltd.	George B. Irish
2001	Aubrey Webb, Beaumont Enterprise	Steve Sullivan
2000	W. Lawrence Walker, Jr., San Antonio Express-News	Jack Sweeney
1999	John W. "Jack" Sweeney, Houston Chronicle	Dick Johnson
1998	David C. Sharp, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal	Steve Sullivan
1997	Stephen W. Sullivan, Corpus Christi Caller-Times	Lissa Walls Vahldiek
1996	Lissa Walls Vahldiek, Southern Newspapers, Inc.	Dolph Tillotson
1995	Dolph Tillotson , The Galveston County Daily News	Lissa Walls Vahldiek
1994	Randy Preddy, Waco Tribune-Herald	Jay Smith
1993	Burl Osborne, The Dallas Morning News	Dick Johnson
1992	George B. Irish, San Antonio Light	Gene McDavid
1991	Gene McDavid, Houston Chronicle	Dick Johnson
1990	Charles A. Schulz, Jr. (posthumous), Taylor Daily Press	John Roberts
1989	John Roberts, The Victoria Advocate	Gene McDavid
1988	Craig Woodson, Woodson Newspapers, Inc	George B. Irish
1987	James M. Moroney, Jr., The Dallas Morning News	Bob Marbut
1986	William E. Dozier, Jr., Kerrville Daily Times	Dick Johnson
1985	Phillip Meek, Fort Worth Star-Telegram	James M. Moroney, Jr.
1984	Charles O. Kilpatrick, San Antonio Express-News	
1983	Roy Appleton, Jr., Denton Record-Chronicle	
1982	Richard J.V. Johnson, Houston Chronicle	
1981	Robert Marbut, Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc	
1980	Calvin N. Clyde, Jr., Tyler Courier-Times & Telegraph	
1979	Dick Dwelle, Athens Daily Review	
1978	Fred Hartman, Baytown Sun, and	
	Charles K. Devall, Kilgore News-Herald	
1977	Joe M. Dealey, The Dallas Morning News	

Awarded for work in year indicated, presented the following year

HISTORY

The Pat Taggart Award was established in 1977 to honor Patrick Ewing Taggart who became known for vigorous leadership and unselfish dedication to his profession, state and community during a 50-year newspaper career.

Taggart, who was president of TDNA in 1955, spent his entire career with the Fentress Newspapers before their purchase by Cox Enterprises. He began as a copy boy for the *Waco News-Tribune*, a forerunner of the *Tribune-Herald*, and went on to become president of Fentress Newspapers and publisher of their papers in Waco, Austin, Port Arthur and Lufkin. During his career Taggart worked tirelessly to make the *Tribune-Herald* a strong voice for the heart of Texas and he contributed greatly to the growth and progress of the Waco community.

After his retirement on December 31, 1976, a group of his friends in TDNA set up the award in his honor. The overall criteria for the person who received the award would be based on the winner's emulating Pat Taggart's high standards and following in his tradition. Taggart died in 1990.

The Taggart Award winner is presented with a plaque at the March TDNA Annual Meeting.