Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909, Third Edition Revised and Enlarged, Volume 1, Lists of Congressional and Departmental Publications Page: XIV


Other Department symbols are:
X = Proceedings of Congress.
Y = Miscellaneous publications of Congress.
Z = Papers of Revolutionary period and first 14 Congresses.
This list gives all the Department symbols as yet required for the use of the Public
Documents Library of this Office. The arrangement on the shelves should be strictly
alphabetical by symbol, not by the word for which the symbol stands; that is, Commerce
and Labor Department publications precede Civil Service Commission publications,
because C precedes CS.
When bureaus, offices, divisions, etc., are transferred from one Executive Department
to another, or when independent publishing offices become subordinate to an
Executive Department, the old classification is retained for earlier issues and a new
one assigned to publications issued after the transfer, double cross references being
Bureau, office, or division symbol, second term in classification number
The figure 1 following the Department symbol represents always the Secretary of
the Executive Department or the chief executive officer of the independent publishing
Beginning with figure 2, the numbers are applied in numerical order to the various
publishing bureaus, offices, and divisions, these having been arranged alphabetically
when the classification was first applied. New offices are added at the end of the list
of the Department and assigned the next number. This provides for a distinctive
symbol for each without limit, though the alphabetical arrangement of new bureaus
can not be kept up.
A point is placed after the bureau symbol to separate the Department and bureau
notation from the rest of the classification number.
Al. = Agriculture Department, Secretary.
A2. = Agriculture Department, Accounts and Disbursements Division.
A3. = Agriculture Department, Agrostology Division.
GP1.= Government Printing Office, Public Printer.
GP2.= Government Printing Office, Library.
GP3.= Government Printing Office, Documents Office.
Series symbol, third term in classification number
Figures 1, 2, 3, and 4, when written after the point as the third term in the classification
number, are used exclusively for the following series of publications
emanating from the various publishing offices:
.1=Annual reports.
.2=General publications.
These four numbers are always assigned for these particular series, even though
the bureau may not have issued any publications belonging there. "General publications"
are publications of a miscellaneous character, which are not numbered or
volumed in any series.
Beginning with figure 5 after the point, the various series are arranged alphabetically
as far as possible, and are assigned numbers. New series are added at the end
of the list. They take the next unused number.
A colon is placed after the series symbol to separate it from the individual book

Upcoming Pages

Here’s what’s next.

upcoming item: 15 15 of 1,731
upcoming item: 16 16 of 1,731
upcoming item: 17 17 of 1,731
upcoming item: 18 18 of 1,731

Show all pages in this book.

This book can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.

Tools / Downloads

Get a copy of this page .

Citing and Sharing

Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.

Reference the current page of this Book.

United States. Superintendent of Documents. Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909, Third Edition Revised and Enlarged, Volume 1, Lists of Congressional and Departmental Publications, book, 1911; Washington D.C.. ( accessed July 21, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, Digital Library,; crediting UNT Libraries Government Documents Department.