Guides > The Joseph Britton Freshwater Mussel Collection User Guide > Introduction

About the Collection

The Joseph Britton Freshwater Mussel Collection contains digitized specimens of freshwater mussels. The collection concentrates on species found in Texas - most of the species of freshwater mussels found in Texas are represented in this collection. The collection's species list details all the Texas species while identifying which are represented in the digital collection. This collection has been digitized and contributed to the UNT Digital Library by the Elm Fork Natural Heritage Museum. For information about the museum, its mission and collections, please visit the partner page and the EFNHM website. For more information about Joseph Britton and this collection of mussel specimens please visit the About This Collection page of the UNT Digital Library.

This document describes using the Joseph Britton Freshwater Mussel Collection at the UNT Digital Library. For a guide to the general use of the UNT Digital Library, please see the Guides page.

Guide Pages

  1. Accessing Objects
  2. Specimen Records
  3. Specimen Images
  4. Physical Features of Freshwater Mussels
  5. Collection Species List

Specimen Data

The data in this collection is spread across individual specimen records. Researchers may obtain a copy of all the collection records in a spreadsheet format from the museum. Please contact Dr. James Kennedy, director of the Elm Fork Natural Heritage Museum, for more details.

Phone: 940-565-2981
Email: kennedy@unt.edu