Guides > Finding Information in the UNT Digital Library > Explore

Explore

If you do not have a specific search in mind and prefer to browse the contents of the UNT Digital Library, use Explore. It is a great way to get an overview of the Digital Library's extensive range of resources.

Start by selecting Explore from the upper right-hand corner of the Digital Library home page. Then choose the way you want to explore from the green navigation bar near the top of the screen.

Explore

Each broad Explore area may contain hundreds or even thousands of items. After you select a subarea of interest, you can narrow results further by adding a keyword in the search box located above the list of items, or by selecting from the categories that appear on the left-hand side of the screen.

Explore by Locations

  • Use the world map to find items associated with a particular country. As you move the cursor over a country, its name will appear; click to view the items. The range of shades of the counties correlates to the number of items. The darkly shaded countries have the most items and the lightest shaded counties have the fewest items. Below the map you will find countries listed by world regions.

  • If you prefer to select a country from an alphabetical list, simply click on the "List of Countries" tab above the map.

  • Choose the "U.S. States" tab to find an alphabetical list of states and the items associated with them.

Explore by Dates

  • Choose from a list of centuries covering 1100 A.D. to the present.

  • Create your own date range to explore items about, or created in, a particular era. Click on Choose Your Own Dates located above the date ranges. Enter a date using the four-digit year.

Explore by Types

Discover items by resource types, such as artwork, books, journals, musical scores, photographs, posters, sound recordings, theses and dissertations, and web sites.

Explore by Partners

View a list of Partners that contribute items to the UNT Digital Library.

  • Find the items the Partner has contributed to the Digital Library by clicking on the Partner's name.

  • Learn more about the Partner by clicking on "About." You will find a description of the Partner, the collections it has contributed, its recent additions to the Portal, and its contact information.

  • Click on "Statistics" to learn how often the Partner's materials are used.

Explore by Collections

View a list of materials grouped around specific themes, such as art, government documents, miniature books, newspaper resources, or World War posters.

  • Find all the items in the Collection by clicking on the name of the Collection.

  • Learn more about the Collection by clicking on "About." You will find a description of the collection, a list of the Partners that contribute to the collection, and the most recent additions to the collection.

  • Click on "Statistics" to learn how often the materials in the Collection are used.