College of Music Program Book 2011-2012: Ensemble & Other Performances, Volume 3


Lauded for providing "a once-in-a-lifetime experience for adventurous concertgoers,"
Zeitgeist is a new music chamber ensemble comprised of two percussion, piano
and woodwinds. One of the longest established new music groups in the country,
Zeitgeist commissions and presents a wide variety of new music for audiences in
the Twin Cities and on tour. Always eager to explore new artistic frontiers, Zeitgeist
collaborates with poets, choreographers, directors, visual artists and sound artists of
all types to create imaginative new work that challenges the boundaries of traditional
chamber music. The members of Zeitgeist are: Heather Barringer, percussion; Patti
Cudd, percussion; Pat O'Keefe, woodwinds; Shannon Wettstein, piano.
Zeitgeist has maintained a fierce dedication to the creation of new music for the past
three decades, commissioning more than 150 works and collaborating with emerging
composers and some of the finest established composers of our time, including
Frederic Rzewski, Terry Riley, John Cage, Pauline Oliveros, Paul Dresher, Mark
Applebaum, Scott Lindroth, Pamela Madsen, Edie Hill, Libby Larsen and Jin Hi
Kim. Zeitgeist's upcoming commissioning projects include Propeller by Mary Ellen
Childs, an opera for Nautiilus Music Theater and Zeitgeist that employs music, video
imagery and staging to explore the nature of flight and the infinite, and a major new
chamber music work by Cambodian American composer Chinary Ung.
Further, Zeitgeist has earned an international reputation for superb craftsmanship and
virtuosic performance of contemporary music. Recent highlights include Walker Art
Center premieres of Pine Eyes by Martin Bresnick (2006), The Making ofAmericans
by Anthony Gatto and Jay Scheib (2008), a 2007 tour of the Czech Republic with a
production of Shape Shifting: Shades of Transformation with composer Scott Miller
and poet Philippe Costaglioli, a 30th anniversary celebration (2008) Glancing Back/
Charging Forward: 30 Years of Groundbreaking Music featuring the world premieres
of works by 30 Minnesota composers, and For the Birds, an evening-length chamber
suite with narration by composer Victor Zupanc and humorist Kevin Kling.


University of North Texas. College of Music. College of Music Program Book 2011-2012: Ensemble & Other Performances, Volume 3. Denton, Texas. UNT Digital Library. Accessed September 25, 2016.